nick thinks… Top 25 of 2008: 22 // The Spook of the Thirteenth Lock – S/T (Transduction 2008)

spook

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Nick: foot tapping stuff, traditional irish rock or, no wait, irish rock traditionals?

though I’d say people who are big into traditional music would say it’s a load of rubbish because it’s more rock than anything else really.

yeah, energetic, great sound, I’m afraid to say… I like this.

I’d say outside of ireland this would only appeal to an older audience, maybe. 

I know the roughness in the voice adds to the sound but I’d like them to enunciate a bit better so I could follow the lyrics.

in a strange way, they’re playing unoriginal music but making it sound original

remember yesterday’s band? 

uh huh

well they had the experimental bits just like these guys do but here it sounds relevant, it adds to the music and doesn’t seem tacked on to come across as original.

I don’t know how big these guys are in ireland or internationally but they deserve to be big, every song is interesting and brings something new to the sound. calling them traditional irish rock doesn’t give them their due, they’re much more than that.

really excellent stuff.

I don’t want to sound funny here but this is the best thing I’ve heard since the Arcade Fire, I’m quite excited by the whole thing.

Jesus. That didn’t go as planned. Full disclosure: The Spook are friends, band mates, yadda yadda yadda, but their album would still be here even if they happened to be total pricks who I hated, I just thought that maybe Nick would give it a cold to luke warm reception, not the gush of love that just happened, to put me somewhere near the clear. wowzers.

http://www.myspace.com/thespookofthethirteenthlock

2 responses to “nick thinks… Top 25 of 2008: 22 // The Spook of the Thirteenth Lock – S/T (Transduction 2008)

  1. Aaah, wow! I can imagine your surprise here. The Spook don’t strike me as the kind of band to immediately appeal but isn’t that why surprises are so much fun?!
    I love the album myself. Certainly one of the tops of this year for me.

  2. Pingback: Jonny Fun And The…Hesitations – Carpe PM (Self Released 2009) « nick thinks…

Leave a Reply

