nick thinks… Top 25 of 2008: 4 // Lucky Dragons – Dream Island Laughing Language (Marriage / Upset The Rhythm / Mistletone 2008)

lddill

Nick: well….it’s um…………………………………………………… ‘interesting’, gimmicky, quite boring , I mean it’s basically somewhat irritating, I reckon that it could be, over a certain amount of time, it could be used as a kind of torture, like if you listened to it over a long period of time it would drive you bonkers.

(a little bit later)

OK OK I CONFESS! I DID IT!

it’s an interesting experiment that’s completely unsuitable for consumption.

(track 17 – Oh I Understand)

ahahaha yeah so do I.

send it to guantanamo bay.

now, I can understand why someone would make something like this, there’s nothing wrong with trying to find something new or make music in a new way, but this doesn’t work.

I always imagine people like this sitting round having incredibly serious conversations about the ‘new’ sound they’ve created while the rest of the world are saying ‘what the fuck is this rubbish?’

and this is your 4th favorite album of the year? I’m seriously beginning to doubt your sanity.

and they’re called lucky dragons? I presume the lucky part refers to them still being alive after making this music.

I’d say this is a great room emptier.

Oh well, ‘Dream Island…’ exists somewhere in that moment just before sleep, on a shaky old bus in a foreign country, showered in rainbow rain and noisemagik. On drugs. Maybe. Also the first letter in each of the title’s words can be rearranged to spell LIDL!

http://www.myspace.com/luckydragons

http://www.hawksandsparrows.org/

One response to “nick thinks… Top 25 of 2008: 4 // Lucky Dragons – Dream Island Laughing Language (Marriage / Upset The Rhythm / Mistletone 2008)

  1. “and this is your 4th favorite album of the year? I’m seriously beginning to doubt your sanity.

    and they’re called lucky dragons? I presume the lucky part refers to them still being alive after making this music.

    I’d say this is a great room emptier.”

    Even though I really like this album, that probably the greatest music review I’ve read in absolutely ages.

Leave a Reply

