Final Fantasy – Spectrum, 14th Century (Blocks Recording Club, 2008)

finalspectrum

Nick: it’s interesting, but it comes across as very tentative, as if he doesn’t really know what he wants to do.

it’s an amalgam of slightly experimental bits, but with no firm musical direction in it, it seems somewhat all over the place.

it’s over now.

oh it’s very short, makes sense.

the boy needs….help, well maybe not help but direction.

this is actually the first thing he’s done that I like.

well that’s fine, I don’t totally hate it, I just find it a bit all over the place, as I said, it doesn’t hold my attention, because one second it’s interesting, the next it’s derivative, it’s tricky to hold on to.

I certainly wouldn’t buy it, or recommend anyone else buys it.

Oooooh, burn. I assumed Mr. Owen Pallett’s involvement with Arcade Fire would grant him automatic entry into Nick’s Golden Circle, but no! Assisted by members of Beirut and pitched as a series of fake field recordings, this is 17 minutes of parping, trilling, and stomping forest jams, which are qualities I always look for in fake field recordings.

http://www.myspace.com/ffinalffantasy

2 responses to “Final Fantasy – Spectrum, 14th Century (Blocks Recording Club, 2008)

  1. I’m a big fan and I think this is the best thing he’s ever done.

  2. I’d be interested to know what Nick thinks of the first Final Fantasy album. It was perfect chamber pop to my ears. As much as i like his stuff since, I’d agree with the “amalgam of slightly experimental bits, but with no firm musical direction” criticism.
    That said i’ve not heard this one yet. Looking forward to it.

Leave a Reply

