Dent May – The Good Feeling Music of Dent May & His Magnificent Ukulele (Paw Tracks, 2009)

dentmay1

Nick: what? say that again.

”The Good Feeling Music of Dent May & His Magnificent Ukulele”

ok

by Dent May

and his magnificent ukulele too I hope.

of course.

I know it’s pretty good stuff but it’s just not my kind of thing.

it just can’t be taken seriously at all can it?

the music, the lyrics, it’s all so flippant.

it’s fun and nostalgic but not enough to be sufficient.

you have to say the guy is actually talented, what he does with that talent…I’m just not sure.

what year is it from?

this year.

really? ok, hmmm.

well………this is just so far removed from anything I would appreciate, I’d put it in the same category as a German village brass band.

oompah oompah oompah!

sorry but I’m going to go now, I think I know this one by now, I doubt my opinion will change. it’s just not my scene, so much so that if it was playing in a restaurant, I would have to leave after a while.

I’d crave silence.

It’s sunny funny music for people who (and people who would like to) make cocktails in their back garden in the sun. And he’s supporting Animal Collective (whose Paw Tracks label released the record) this Friday in Tripod.

http://www.myspace.com/dentmay

Leave a Reply

