LCD Soundsystem – Sound of Silver (DFA, 2007)

lcdsos

{Track 2 – Time To Get Away, James Murphy sings; ‘I like it automatic’}

Nick: I can hear that, yeah.

I quite liked the first number, but as always I would’ve preferred if it was less mechanical.

it irritates the shite out of me when you can clearly hear that the music was made by machines.

I have nothing against it, if it’s a way to do it, but this just sounds too mechanical.

because it’s very nice melodically in parts but after two minutes of repetition it just becomes terrible.

the only reason I can see for the mechanical sounds is if it’s just one guy with sequencers and all that.

it is just one guy really, I think.

live they’re a full band.

it’s like somebody was passing a factory, liked the sound of it, recorded it and put a song over it.

some music can sound very good with sequencers but not when they try to make it sound like real music.

it’s all real music

well, yes but…it sounds like he wants to be a band, it’s not artistic dishonesty it’s just……….getting it wrong.

do you know what I mean?

I know what you mean….

but you don’t agree with it.

{Track 5 – All My Friends}

like that is SO annoying, that dah dah dah dah dah dah dah piano sound, but if it had been played by a real person it wouldn’t be torture, you’d have variations in the sound.

of course now you’re going to tell me that it was played by a real person.

I have no idea, probably not.

if I was watching this live I would’ve left by now, it takes over, the piano, it becomes all you can hear, they may as well just leave out all the other sounds.

I’m sorry to say but it’s just creative laziness, find a nice second of music and repeat it endlessly, just because you couldn’t be bothered to write any more.

according to wikipedia, there were 12 musicians involved in the making of the record.

and what? they all just played one note? let the computers do the rest?

and actually I don’t give a shit about how it was made, it could be made in any way, it still sounds like one man with a computer.

{Track 9 -New York, I Love You But You’re Bringing Me Down}

this is ‘real’ music now isn’t it?

yes but it’s not very good is it?

I always forget about LCD Soundsystem, it’s weird. But a friend put this on over the weekend and it’s just so so good. My brain isn’t working today so I’ll leave it at that.

http://www.myspace.com/lcdsoundsystem

One response to “LCD Soundsystem – Sound of Silver (DFA, 2007)

  1. I like this album a good bit, but I agree with Nick about All My Friends. The piano loop is excruciating. I can’t understand why anyone singled that song out as the kind of emotional centre of main achievement of the album ahead of Someone Great. But they did.

Leave a Reply

