Bill Wells & Maher Shalal Hash Baz – Gok (Geographic, 2009)

billhashbaz

We’ve done Maher Shalal Hash Baz before but this time it’s them and Scottish pianist Bill Wells.

Nick: have we?

yep, the record’s called Gok.

Gok?

well it opens kind of nice but gloomy.

Helen: it’s a deathmarch.

yes I was just about to say, funeral march-y.

this reminds me of the stuff, well some of the stuff…..he worked as an arranger with Miles Davis?

Gill Evans?

YES! very good, reminds me of Gill Evans.

I was thinking more Vince Guaraldi, but drunk.

I don’t know him.

the guy from the Peanuts soundtrack, Charlie Brown?

when I open my Peanuts books, I don’t get a soundtrack.

I could play you bits from Sketches of Spain that sound like this.

like, I couldn’t ehm…..I couldn’t listen to this for a long time.

the last time we did these guys you said;this is one of the only things you’ve played me recently that I would happily listen to again. extremely likeable.”

ah! yeah well I probably wouldn’t listen to it for hours.

{Track 9 -Time Takes Me So Back}

is she singing a combination of English and French?

I have no idea.

sounds like it.

the only thing I don’t like about it, is the lack of tempos changes, and the tempo seems to be draggy, slow to the point of draggy.

{Track 14 -Banned Announcement}

see? it’s nice to have something jaunty like that.

is that someone whistling?

I was having a pretty shitty day on Saturday, nothing going right. I was looking forward to heading into RSAG in Whelans, that was the light at the end of the shitsaturdaytunnel, but then my friends lamed out on me, too tired, too broke, too busy yadda yadda yadda. Oh boy was I mad! So mad I just lay motionless on my bed for half an hour, staring out the window at the moon. Yep, pretty mad alright.

But then I got up and got out, walked to Tesco with this record in my ears for the first time, smile growing larger by the second. I bought some beer and skipped home, marveling at all the boring things I walk by everyday.

http://www.myspace.com/thebillwellstrio

http://www.myspace.com/decablisty

One response to “Bill Wells & Maher Shalal Hash Baz – Gok (Geographic, 2009)

  1. i think it’s great disjointed joy music

Leave a Reply

