Shuta Hasunuma – Pop Ooga (Western Vinyl, 2009)

shutta

Shuta Hasunuma?

Nick: has he? can I have one?

yeah I’m really not sure how to pronounce this one.

where’s he from?

I…. don’t know, I know nothing, hold on.

I was about to say ‘he’ is from Tokyo, but that could be a woman in the picture.

nope it’s a man.

well it doesn’t sound Japanese at all, sounds South American if you ask me, which you probably don’t.

ehm, the whole point of this blog is asking you, so of course I do.

Latin rhythms certainly.

very….unobtrusive, it’s sort of music that you can decide to listen to or just let it wash over you, at a sort of a distance.

and strangely enough, I hate to use the word…

NICE!!??!!

haha, no, this is worse, it’s pleasant.

despite the fast rhythm, it’s quite relaxing.

bit sort of playful.

‘we’re making music here to relax, please don’t take it seriously’

light…

insubstantial…

are words that come to mind.

like all this kind of music, it becomes wallpaper after a while.

nice wallpaper.

it doesn’t penetrate past the first layer of your brain.

makes no impression.

is it even of a genre?

it could be played in lifts or supermarkets, it’s not much further than musak.

it also sounds a bit like, a kid’s first keyboard? and you could press one button and it would play a whole load of stuff, kid’s could pretend to be great piano players.

fine for ten minutes, it’s just turning to quite serious crap now.

I’d love to know, does he make money doing this?

cause if he does, I reckon I should go into music.

cause I can do this better, with more imagination.

sounds like it’s coming out of a music box, that you’d buy on your holidays as a souvenir.

it’s times like these you wish computers had never been invented.

I don’t wanna say The Books go balearic but…

http://www.myspace.com/shutahasunuma

Leave a Reply

