The Microphones – The Glow pt 2 (K, 2001)

glowpttoo

{track 2 – The Glow pt 2}

Nick: oooh, very abrupt ending.

it almost feels as if something went wrong there.

is this one person?

almost.

{track 3 – The Moon}

huh?

another track with a weird ending, this album is characterised by it’s strange endings.

it’s like they were listening back to it, and just cut the tape at a certain point.

it’s dark, and filmic.

not what you’d call uplifting.

for some reason, I don’t know quite why, it feels like a work in progress rather than something that is finished.

but I like it.

there’s some subtle experimentation in it, which I normally don’t like, normally it’s just for the sake of experimentation, but here it works.

there’s a lot of ehm…..sort of unexpected bits in it.

you discover things.

yeah, there’s something very theatrical about it, it’s very visual music.

what do you see when listen to it?

oh….. lot’s of things.

it’s contemplative, gloomy….which I find a bit of ehhh………

I mean actually he does sound like he’s suffering, as if he’s ill.

‘poooooor meee’ you know?

I still expect him to go into the studio one day to finish it.

there’s almost too much contrast, there’s bits where it sounds like it just him and his guitar, and then it suddenly goes to this huge…I wouldn’t say noise but this big….thing.

and you don’t like that?

well…..it’s quite strange.

{track 20 – My Warm Blood [almost ten minutes of fog-horn, heartbeats, static and buried treasure]}

is this still it?

yep.

well this is just silly, this is what I’m talking about, gloomy.

It’s getting to the time where people start compiling their ‘top ___ albums of the decade’, I’m gonna try to not get sucked in, I just wanna say that this was the best record released in the last ten years. It changed everything for me.

http://www.pwelverumandsun.com/

One response to “The Microphones – The Glow pt 2 (K, 2001)

  1. I agree, easily the best album of the last 10 years. Interesting how it seems unfinished to your dad, considering I would put the production/polish on this album as a milestone in recording/mixing (or at least as far as lo-fi music is concerned). Suppose it’s them there Phil abrupt endings.

Leave a Reply

