The Flaming Lips – The Soft Bulletin (Warner Bros, 1999)

the-soft-bulletinNick: This is a classic?

yeah, to some folk, lots actually.

I don’t know if I can handle a classic today.

{track 1: Race For The Prize}

strange, I’ve heard this numerous times before but I’ve never been so aware of the keyboards.

maybe you’re high?

you reckon?

you’re probably gonna find this a very strange remark…

ok.

it very much reminds me of David Bowie.

I don’t find that strange.

ok.

what about it makes you think of Bowie?

the…the sort of storytelling shape of the songs, if that makes any sense.

I think there’s a sort of…

again, I like it a lot but as usual, it’s all too similar.

like, it’s very interesting up to a point, but by now {track 5} I’ve heard it all before.

nothing new happening.

let’s hear something else.

in virtually every song he sings slow words with lots of space between.

”RAHHHH………..DAHHHH………..YLAHHHH”

come on guys!

on the other hand you could argue that that is their strength, it gives them their sound.

you hear something and you can immediately tell it’s The Flaming Lips.

in March of this year, Wayne Coyne said of the Arcade Fire:

“I’m a fan of them on one level, but on another level I get really tired of their pompousness … We’ve played some shows with them and they really treat people like shit. Whenever I’ve been around them, I’ve found that they not only treated their crew like shit, they treated the audience like shit. They treated everybody in their vicinity like shit. I thought, ‘Who do they think they are?’…I don’t care if it’s Arcade Fire or Brian Eno. If either of them walked into a room and treated people like shit I’d be like, ‘Fuck you, get outta here.’… They have good tunes, but they’re pricks, so fuck ’em.

are you gonna let him talk about your favorite band that way?

haha, well they’re not my favorite band, but he could be completely right, what would I know?

I’ve never met them but they’ve never treated me like shit either.

{track 9 – The Gash}

ah! all of a sudden it sounds different.

it also gets dangerously close to soft, sentimental pop.

it doesn’t quite hit that but it gets close.

I’ve been on the ‘FLips’ website for a few minutes now, and I honestly can’t find the release date for their new album anywhere. Well, you can listen to it here and pre-order a ridiculous special edition hairy box type thing  here.

Oh I see it now, Embryonic will be released on the 13th of October.

http://www.myspace.com/flaminglips


3 responses to “The Flaming Lips – The Soft Bulletin (Warner Bros, 1999)

  1. I managed to download the new Flips album last night, funnily enough…

    I’m not sure what to make of it on first listen, but it’s not really what I expected – one of those ones where it might take a while to decide whether it’s audacious genius or self-indulgent garbage… either way, it’s a bit, er, “WTF” – lots of crazy, crazy psychedelic sound, but the vocals are really low and vague, and there are no obvious Big Songs to speak of, and it’s bloody 70 minutes long too, so…. not a big commercial success, I’m predicting, but a way more interesting listen than their last one…

  2. The Lips need to do something to get themselves out of the rut they’ve been in the past few records?! Maybe ditch Friedmann.. he seems obsessed with a very clipped, compressed, clean, ultra dry pop music and it’s not what The Lips should be about… IMHO

    Also funny about the Arcade Fire stuff, they said similar things about Beck after touring with him… now they could be right, both AF and Beck strike me as cranky odd balls… but if you watch Fearless Freaks, Wayne is a total hardass in a different way, can’t imagine he’s an easy man to keep up with

    Though he did sign my Zaireka and I have an awesome photo of the two of us ‘hanging out’ that I must put in a frame…

  3. http://www.starpulse.com/news/index.php/2006/10/15/beck_i_was_shocked_by_coyne_attack

    In a recent interview, Coyne said, “Being around Beck, I did get the feeling that he’s just removed from everyday existence. “Beck didn’t treat people badly, he was just so oblivious to other people’s lives. None of it’s horrible. He’s not a Nazi or anything. He’s just a little inconsiderate. To be considerate you have to have some idea of what’s going on. I mean, we’d be set to rehearse from noon till midnight every day. And there’d be days when he wouldn’t show up at all, and he doesn’t call. I mean, we have cellphones.”

    In response, Beck says, “I was totally surprised, the last time I’d seen him, he was like, ‘I love you like a brother, you’ve helped us so much and I’ll always be your friend.'”

    But Beck isn’t holding a grudge against Coyne, saying the attack reflects his outspoken personality.

    He explains, “He’s a showman and he picks on people sometimes. He does it to everybody, his band, his friends, anybody who walks in the room. I think in the press it comes off as an attack, but he’s just on permanent truth serum.”

Leave a Reply

