Where do you see yourself in a year from now?

so tomorrow marks 1 year of nick thinks…

does it? ah I see, so…yes.

I don’t know what to do.

does anybody else know? will anybody notice?

it’s possible.

it’s unlikely.

does that matter?

well if they notice, they might expect us to do something, if they don’t notice then what does it matter?

do you have a message for the folks out there?

ehm…for those that have been reading from the beginning, you are very brave, the world needs more people like you.

if there were more people like you in the world maybe we wouldn’t be in the mess we are right now.

so you can tell your parents, your partner, your spiritual adviser, we think, no… Nick thinks you are wonderful.

and isn’t that what really matters?

well I think we need some change.

like what?

I’m not sure, the way I see it we only have a two options – stop it altogether, or change it. we have to progress no?

yes…we could add a check list, where we rate every CD we review on a number of predetermined criteria, like a star system. originality, musicality, recording quality, lyrics, melodics.

yeah?

yeah that could work.

it also gives us the opportunity to rate them quicker than we have up to now. like we wouldn’t have to say anything about them, just give it a mark or something.

we could even ask our visitors to suggest criteria.

well I think people come here because of what you say….they find it…

quaint? silly?

well then we can have it in addition to the quaint and silly things I say.

how easy is it to insert a visual?

very easy.

so here’s an idea – express every LP we listen to in a little drawing.

”if this piece of music were a painting it would look like this…”

I was actually thinking of something similar not too long ago.

I also reckon we should change the music we review…

like play it backwards?

no I mean, you know what I mean.

change the type of music? I think we cover a wide variety of music on the site.

yes but… y’see, I was talking to Lisa a while ago…

which Lisa?

from down the road.

oh ok.

and she said she really loved the blog, but she didn’t have a clue who any of the bands were.

isn’t that a good thing? we’re introducing people to new music right?

well, I’d say after reading most of your reviews no one would want to listen to whatever we’d just reviewed.

like…I think a lot of people get a kick out of reading about what you have to say about an album they already know.

so I reckon we should open it up to include stuff that isn’t ‘my record collection’.

like do some stuff that’s actually really popular.

Coldplay?

Jay-Z?

YES! I like him, it’s funny a lot of music appreciation is about attention. if you had played me some Jay-Z last week I would’ve had you turn it off right away. but then I watched that show about him last week, and heard him talk about his music and where he’s coming from, and I started paying attention to the lyrics and now…..well I reckon the man’s a genius!

So…ok let’s have a change of attitude.

either that or we shut it down.

are you fed up with it?

no no, it’s just that…a year is nice.

two years isn’t?

oh two years is fine too, but one year and three months? one year and eight months? bleurg.

well let’s go for another year and review the situation then.

ok?

ok.

I hope I don’t have to live at home for another year.

maybe I’ll die next year!

jesus.

12 responses to “Where do you see yourself in a year from now?

  1. Happy Birhday nickthinks! Please continue, it’s the kinda reading that makes me smile…

  2. Happy Birthday, guys! Love this blog, here’s to another year (hopefully… gulp)

  3. Congratulations on a year of consistently entertaining blogging!

  4. Happy Blogday, Nick and Ruan, and your own “better place” words right backatcha. It’s been a better year having you guys around 🙂

  5. Can you tell Nick I’m not a racist?

  6. Congrats lads! Always a great read.

  7. you should review the top 5 singles from the Irish chart… I’ve threatened to do this before, I reckon you would either find the pattern behind the masses fickle tastes, or go insane. Or both.

  8. Happy birthday lads, keep on nickthinkin’!

  9. lisa from down the road

    i am amazed i had such an impact, cant wait to see your reviews of the latest offering from girls aloud and major lazer
    Happy birthday neighbours xx
    Lisa x

  10. Happy birthday guys, you better keep blogging! You should add polls so people can occasional vote for next album nick should listen to.

  11. polls are good idea, must look into that.
    in the meantime if anyone wants nick to review a certain album you can mail us at nickthinksblog[at]gmail[dot]com

Leave a Reply

