Field Music – Measure (Memphis Industries, 2010)

Nick: It’s….in places it’s quite cleverly put together but, and I don’t know why, it’s quite unsatisfactory.

I don’t know what I don’t like about it.

maybe it takes itself too seriously.

I think that’s it.

I don’t know.

{later}

yes! that’s it.

too serious, too intellectual it doesn’t move you.

it’s cold.

it suffers from what a lot of contemporary music suffers from, it’s got no soul.

{track 10: You and I}

it tries to fake soul, like here.

ok so we’re halfway through, lets see if they can win you back.

there are bits and pieces I quite like, I don’t hate it all.

there’s just nothing spontaneous about it.

it’s all too thought out.

they remind me of somebody else..

some one gave me a tape year and years ago, thinking I would love it and I didn’t.

could it be…Fagen?

Donald Fagen, from Steely Dan, The Night Fly.

yes! that’s it, it had the exact same effect as this, it’s ‘good’ music but with no genuine musical soul.

god that was a long time ago, maybe 25 years?

I’ve been thinking that since this record started, just took me a while to remember.

when was this made?

it’s gonna be out in February.

so they haven’t kept up with the times, well it has some modern elements to it.

also it’s all a bit… precious, I think that’s the word for it.

occasionally it almost goes somewhere.

and then it doesn’t.

Aaaand we’re back! Hello, Happy 2010 (twenty ten) to you.
Man, I LOVE Field Music, really I do but for some reason I’m finding it really hard to counter any of Nick’s criticisms. Like…ehhh…it’s really great!…it is. Believe me.

http://www.myspace.com/fieldmusic

One response to “Field Music – Measure (Memphis Industries, 2010)

  1. I love Field Music and all The Brewis Bros. projects… but I’m not sure how many times, if any, I’ve made it too the end of this album… um…

Leave a Reply

