Valerie Francis – Slow Dynamo (VF, 2009)

Nick: Well, it doesn’t do a lot for me.

I think it is musically very boring and by her trying to keep her voice that low key and whispery she drifts out of tune on a regular basis.

out of tune, really?

do you not hear that? my ears don’t tell lies!

your ears are 72 years old.

they’ve actually gotten better over time.

for some reason I don’t think the voice and the musical arrangements gel at all. maybe in some places but in mostly not at all.

{track 7: Stones}

that…..

had a certain amount of merit.

{record ends}

there’s not much else I can say. I found it very difficult to keep interest in it. it starts the way it ends.

also you can’t really judge her as a singer, she doesn’t sing.

what was it then? burping?

it’s melodic talk-whispering.

Valerie Francis has been nominated for a Meteor Award in the Best Irish Female category (along with Dolores O’Riordan, whoever that is) and her (great) album (don’t listen to Nick) has been nominated for the (rlly controversial) Choice Music Prize. And I know for a fact that she might win one or maybe both or possibly neither. I can feel it in my bones.

http://www.myspace.com/valeriefrancis

Leave a Reply

